Nick Ryan Bursary

To honour the work of its longstanding chair Nick Ryan, CAA International supports the annual Nick Ryan Bursary Award. The Nick Ryan Bursary recognises the best student paper presented at the annual conference. The award, which is a maximum of 1,000 Euros, supports the winner’s expenses to attend the next CAA conference.

Applying for the Nick Ryan Bursary

Students presenting papers at CAA’s annual conference may apply to be considered for the Nick Ryan Bursary during the abstract submission process. The next opportunity to submit for the Nick Ryan Bursary will be in conjunction with the CAA2024 conference to be held in Auckland, New Zealand. The call for papers for the conference will open in September of this year.<!–call for papers for the CAA 2023 conference, which will be 3-6 April 2023 in Amsterdam, Netherlands, is now open. Student authors who wish to be considered for the Nick Ryan Bursary should mark the appropriate tick box in the abstract submission system when uploading their proposals. The deadline to submit abstracts is 17 October 2022–>.

Each abstract submitted for consideration for the Nick Ryan Bursary is assessed by the Scientific Committee as part of the conference review process. The Scientific Committee chair works with the Bursaries and Student/Low-Income Officer to review all of the submitted abstracts and to select the top eight proposals to become part of the Nick Ryan Bursary session.

Authors of the papers chosen will be asked to submit a video of their paper presentation approximately two weeks before the start of the conference. The videos will be assessed by a panel consisting of members of the Scientific Committee, Executive Steering Committee, and/or local organising committee. Authors selected for the Nick Ryan Bursary session will still present their papers in-person in the session for which they were accepted. The winner of the Nick Ryan Bursary award will be announced at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Nick Ryan Bursary Recipients

CAA2023 Nick Ryan Bursary Award

The winner of the 2023 Nick Ryan Bursary Award was Giacomo Fontana for his paper entitled “A quantitative and transferable multi-scale approach for the study of hillfort communities”.

Previous Nick Ryan Bursary Winners

CAA 2022: Joseph Lewis
CAA 2021: Anastasia Nikulina
CAA 2019: Benjamin Hanussek
CAA 2018: Heather Christie
CAA 2017: Samantha Thi Porter
CAA 2016: Iris Kramer
CAA 2015: Chiara Piccoli
CAA 2014: Iza Romanowska
CAA 2013: Ben Davies


If you have any questions about the Nick Ryan bursary, please email the Bursary and Student/Low Income Officer.